Shelved

I’ve gotten an agreement with a shop on the high street to keep a selection of my craft on consignment.  This is a step up for me, because it means I’ll have a sale display out constantly (unlike a craft show) and I don’t have to be there so I can work instead of tend shop.  Word!

The only wrinkle is that I’m providing my own display.  They’re providing a wall.  So, it follows that the next project is a hanging wall shelf.  Since I need this to be done quickly, I’m working without plans, and making it up as I go.

I’ve got about four feet square worth of wall to work with, so I’ll make the shelf that big, and about a foot deep to keep it from being too cavernous.  For the same reason, it needs to taper up toward the top.  For strength, I’ll integrate a French cleat into the carcase, and mortise the shelves into the sides, rather than a simple dado.  Since I’ve got some yellow pine up in the shop ceiling, I’ll use that for our materials.

And go!

img_20160806_125232_648

The first job is cutting up 2 x 12’s into panels.  Doing this will give us nice, stable, quartersawn grain.  To start, we rip out the centers.

img_20160806_130819_915

Then we’ll reassemble these quartersawn strips into panels.  You can never have too many clamps…or so I’m told.

img_20160808_115715_878

It might seem counterintuitive, but this is actually better than leaving the heart of the tree in there.  The heart of a tree is weak, and warps almost constantly.  By removing the weak area, the panels will be the better for it.

Now, I’m showing this in sequence, but the passage of time isn’t in here.  It’s a lot of work with a handsaw doing all that ripping and dimensioning.  I suppose I could have used 1 x 12, except that I wanted yellow pine (much stronger than white pine), and because of the lack of support, I wanted 7/8″ thick stock rather than 3/4″.  It might not seem like a lot, but combine the two and these panels are much stiffer than if I hadn’t put in the time.

A construction note to the wary: when assembling panels MAKE SURE that your grain is all oriented in the same direction.  If you forget to do this, it will be a huge hassle when you go to plane your panels later on.  Go ahead; ask me how I know these things.

At any rate, once the hours of work is done, and everything is cleaned up, we’ve got a nice batch of panels ready to start joining.  We’ll start that once I can feel my arms again.

img_20160826_124056_798

 

