Baby, it’s cold outside!

A few years ago, when I heard about a big spiral-shaped storm dipping down from the Arctic, the meteorologists spoke about it in all caps and italics as if it were the end of days:

POLAR VORTEX!

But quickly that was followed by the various sequels (which were good), and then prequels (which were not), then sequels again…

The Vortex Strikes Back

Return of the Vortex

The Phantom Vortex

Attack of the Vortex

Revenge of the Vortex

The Vortex Awakens

All those different titles and only the even-numbered ones were good.  Wait, wrong franchise…

Anyway, this week we got hit with Rogue Vortex here in Central Ohio.  It was bitterly cold.  Low single digits with sub-zero wind chills.  The chickens went on strike and refused to exit their shelter.  And in my unheated shop, it got kind of chilly.  When I had two layers of wool socks, wool long johns, two wool sweaters, and a wool hat on as well as my normal clothes, and I was still cold, I finally caved.

This is the heater I use in the shop during the winter when I just can’t take the cold anymore.  It works extremely well.

img_20161209_113946_685

Unlike a liquid-fueled heater, it’s a very safe device.  The fuel doesn’t slosh and spill when you refill it.  If you tip it over, it won’t leak everywhere and cause a worse conflagration.  The fuel doesn’t go bad, and it doesn’t stink.  You can use any leftover fuel to grill burgers in the summer.  And it really puts out the heat!  I usually turn it on for ten or maybe fifteen minutes in the morning, and that warms the entire shop enough that I can work reasonably comfortably.  The only reason I don’t use it more is that propane is temporary and costly, whilst sweaters, once purchased, can be used indefinitely.

So if you have an outdoor structure you want to warm or if you want an easily stored backup heater for your home, I recommend this.

