Bang on

As you might have gleaned from earlier posts, I was once an active duty Marine, an infantryman to be specific.  It was an excessively interesting portion of my life, but one which I can’t see ever trying to take a mulligan on.  It had a rather outsized impact on not only how the rest of my life has turned out, but also who I am.

It came to pass that one of my old friends from that time contacted me with interesting news: he was getting married, and wished me to attend.  Of course I was happy for him and quickly agreed to come up for it.  But after I hung up, I had a brief, questioning moment of doubt: what should I bring as a gift?

Well, if you recall, I said that we were on active duty together.  That made it a little easier, because an appropriate gift for us old campaigners is almost always ammunition.  Problem solved!

I mentioned this to my wife and was the prompt recipient of the eyebrow of scorn: “Really?  You’re getting him ammo?”  Now I realise that those of you who are of the weaker fairer sex might not understand that really this is a fairly personal purchase.  You have to know a lot of fairly specific details before you can buy ammo for someone.  And since it’s a fairly expensive consumable, we’re always happy to get it.  I mentioned that I was gifting ammo to someone else that has been in some similar places and his response was “Ammo?  Cool!”

But at any rate, I wanted to tie together the past and present.  I no longer carry a rifle (or light machine gun, more correctly) for a living, but then again I didn’t work wood back then either.  So I decided that not only would I gift some ammo, but also make a little box to give it in that would remain after the rounds were expended.  As it’s been given and I’m not going to ruin the surprise, I feel it’s safe to document the build here.  Thankfully, I had just enough walnut, and a piece of cherry that would suit.

IMG_20170516_134842_894

