OPSEC, and taking credit

So this post is a little late due to some of the considerations that went into the construction of this FIFO unit.  So we’re going to start tonight by talking about OPSEC.  That’s the acronym for “OPerational SECurity”, and in my former life (carrying a light machine gun for a living), it was a big deal.

The basic idea surrounding OPSEC is that enemy forces (whatever colour/religion/ideology they might be) can have you under surveillance at any time.  If you talk or write about operational details, that can give the enemy intel on where you might be or how large your forces are.  This is a bad thing, and should be avoided.  The military has been (and continues to be) paranoid about this for some time, though it reached its most publicized peak in the Second World War.

untitled

I can hear the mutterings now: “Great, is this on the test or something?  Who cares and what does this have to do with chopping mortices at all!”  Well, it has nothing at all to do with the mechanics of woodworking, and everything to do with the patrons of woodworking.

If you recall a while back, there was this TV show called “Doomsday Preppers”.  It highlighted all sorts of crazy folk really very nice people who felt that one way or another, the world as we know it was going to crash and burn and we were going to be in Mad Max/Omega Man/The Walking Dead.  ANY DAY we could wake up and it was going to be DAY ZERO.  WOLVERINES!!!!

Sorry.  Anyway, the show was basically people going on television and showing everyone on earth what their name was, and what their house looked like, and what kinds of fancy gear they had, as well as their 47 cases of Dinty Moore.

This was extremely poor OPSEC.

So now we come to my shop.  The client I built this FIFO for was not inclined to make the same mistake.  On the other hand, he understood that I publish pictures of my work, and that I would like to post a final picture so all y’all could see how it turned out.  So I took my pictures, which I edited a smidge, and then submitted for his approval.

This is important because my patrons deserve respect, and because I feel it is important that they trust me.  If I didn’t show them respect, I’d find myself without work in no time.  That’s purely pragmatic, and ignores the important ethical responsibility that I have towards others (which I actually find more compelling).

So here is the final, vetted picture of our FIFO build.  It holds twenty cans of mushrooms, and though it is five feet tall, takes only 4 ½” square of space, which allows it to be shoehorned into some mighty tight spots.  It will keep your stock as fresh as can be with a minimum of effort.  Hope you enjoyed this series, and maybe it can be helpful if you too want to keep months (maybe years!) of fungus on hand.

IMG_20170714_131401_784-1

